Cuba Politics

Mayabeque and Artemisa officially replace La Habana Province

Posted March 26, 2011 by publisher in Cuba Politics.


The People’s Power Provincial Assemblies of the provinces of Mayabeque and Artemisa were officially constituted on Sunday with the presence of First Vice President Jose Ramon Machado Ventura.

In San Jose de las Lajas, capital of Mayabeque, the assembly elected Armando Remigio Cuellar Dominguez as its president and Tamara Valido Benitez as its vice president, while Solangela Gonzalez Hernandez will be its secretary.

It has 75 delegates, 40 of whom are women, and 69 delegates were born after the triumph of the Revolution in 1959. Most have university degrees or middle high studies.

Luis Miguel Garcia Diaz, first secretary of the Cuban Communist Party (PCC) in Mayabeque, reaffirmed the commitment of the new authorities and the people of the 11 municipalities of this territory to the defense of the Revolution and to contribute to the success of the current process of updating of the social and economic model.

Also present were VP Esteban Lazo Hernandez (President of the National Assembly (Parliament), Ricardo Alarcon and the General Secretary of the Cuban Workers’ Confederation (CTC), Salvador Valdes Mesa, as well as other Government, State and PCC leaders.

Meanwhile, in Artemisa, the 73 delegates representing the 11 municipalities of this new province elected Raul Rodriguez Cartaya as the president of the provincial assembly.

Juan Dominguez Miranda will be their vice president and Maria de las Mercedes Martinez will be the secretary.

Also present were VP Esteban Lazo, VP Commander of the Revolution Ramiro Valdes, and Ricardo Alarcon.

Member Comments

No comments have been posted yet.