Cuba Politics

Repressive measures against 10 companies doing business with Cuba

Posted February 12, 2004 by publisher in Cuba Politics.


—HAVANA JOURNAL PUBLISHER NOTE—This is the first source we’ve seen to list the ten companies.—

U.S. Treasury Secretary John Snow announced February 9 at the Omni Colonnade Hotel in Coral Gables that measures are to be taken against 10 business groups promoting travel and trade with Cuba.

Snow made that announcement in Miami, the Cuban exile capital, which provided crucial votes in the elections that took Bush to the White House in 2000. Those votes could be vital to his reelection in November of this year.

In a speech before leaders of the Cuban-American mafia, Snow named 10 companies that are to be placed on a “black list” prohibiting U.S. citizens from doing business with them.  Nine of the 10 promote trips to Cuba, and one of them sends packages to the island.

Snow traveled to Miami on February 9 after a weekend meeting in nearby Boca Raton with finance ministers from the Group of Seven.

The organizations named by Snow are the property of or controlled by the Cuban government or Cuban nationals, the Treasury Department said in a statement.

The companies now on the black list are:

Canada Inc. of Montreal; Corporacion CIMEX S.A. of Cuba; Havanatur S.A. of Buenos Aires; Havanatur Bahamas Ltd; Havanatur Chile S.A. of Chile; Tiendas Universo S.A. of Cuba; the Cubanacán Group of Cuba; Cubanacán International B.V. of Holland; and Cubanacán U.K. of London.

Snow warned that violations of the embargo will not be permitted, and that those companies have been supplying easy access to Cuba for individuals opting to violate the law.

The measure entails blocking all of the property of those agencies – located in Cuba, Argentina, the Bahamas, Canada, Chile, Holland and Britain – which are in the possession of people subject to U.S. jurisdiction, Snow explained.

Persons subject to U.S. jurisdiction may not undertake any transactions with these entities unless they are authorized to do so by the Treasury’s Office of Foreign Assets Controls (OFAC), he added. Since 1997, Canadian companies trading with Cuba – including in tourism – have been protected by Canadian law from application of the U.S. Helms-Burton Act, according to a Notimex dispatch from Montreal.

According to government statements at the time, the Canadian legislation was passed to protect the country’s businesses and to show that Canada will vigorously continue to oppose the extraterritorial application of U.S. legislation, Notimex informed.

The Canadian law also guarantees that court proceedings in virtue of the Helms-Burton Act will not be respected or recognized by Canada, and that Canadian citizens may recuperate any expenses incurred in relation to that U.S. legislation through their court system.

—HAVANA JOURNAL PUBLISHER NOTE—All articles that we have read and posted here led us to believe that this list was made up of US based companies. We were wondering why the list of ten companies was not made public by the administration. After reading this article, we wonder why the list was not longer?

As you have read, NONE of the companies on the list are based in the United States. So, why is the US blacklisting these companies? We’ll reserve our comments from here on.

Member Comments

No comments have been posted yet.