Cuba Politics

Senate Roll Call Votes regarding Cuba Travel Ban

Posted October 23, 2003 by publisher in Cuba Politics.

Provided by Latin American Working Group | [url=][/url]

U.S. Senate Roll Call Votes 108th Congress - 1st Session, as compiled
through Senate LIS by the Senate Bill Clerk under the direction of the
Secretary of the Senate

Vote Summary

Question: On the Motion to Table (Motion To Table Dorgan Amdt. No. 1900

    Vote Number:  405
    Vote Date:  October 23, 2003, 11:58 AM

    Required For Majority:  1/2
    Vote Result:  Motion to Table Failed

    Amendment Number:  S.Amdt. 1900 to H.R. 2989
    Statement of Purpose:  To prohibit the enforcement of the ban on
travel to Cuba.

    Vote Counts:


    Not Voting 5

Alphabetical by Senator Name

Akaka (D-HI), Nay
    Alexander (R-TN), Yea
    Allard (R-CO), Nay
    Allen (R-VA), Yea
    Baucus (D-MT), Nay
    Bayh (D-IN), Nay
    Bennett (R-UT), Nay
    Biden (D-DE), Nay
    Bingaman (D-NM), Nay
    Bond (R-MO), Not Voting
    Boxer (D-CA), Not Voting
    Breaux (D-LA), Nay
    Brownback (R-KS), Nay
    Bunning (R-KY), Yea
    Burns (R-MT), Not Voting
    Byrd (D-WV), Nay
    Campbell (R-CO), Nay
    Cantwell (D-WA), Nay
    Carper (D-DE), Nay
    Chafee (R-RI), Nay
    Chambliss (R-GA), Yea
    Clinton (D-NY), Nay
    Cochran (R-MS), Yea
    Coleman (R-MN), Yea
    Collins (R-ME), Nay
    Conrad (D-ND), Nay
    Cornyn (R-TX), Yea
    Corzine (D-NJ), Yea
    Craig (R-ID), Nay
    Crapo (R-ID), Nay
    Daschle (D-SD), Nay
    Dayton (D-MN), Nay
    DeWine (R-OH), Nay
    Dodd (D-CT), Nay
    Dole (R-NC), Yea
    Domenici (R-NM), Yea
    Dorgan (D-ND), Nay
    Durbin (D-IL), Nay
    Edwards (D-NC), Not Voting
    Ensign (R-NV), Yea
    Enzi (R-WY), Nay
    Feingold (D-WI), Nay
    Feinstein (D-CA), Nay
    Fitzgerald (R-IL), Yea
    Frist (R-TN), Yea
    Graham (D-FL), Yea
    Graham (R-SC), Yea
    Grassley (R-IA), Yea
    Gregg (R-NH), Yea
    Hagel (R-NE), Nay
    Harkin (D-IA), Nay
    Hatch (R-UT), Yea
    Hollings (D-SC), Nay
    Hutchison (R-TX), Nay
    Inhofe (R-OK), Nay
    Inouye (D-HI), Nay
    Jeffords (I-VT), Nay
    Johnson (D-SD), Nay
    Kennedy (D-MA), Nay
    Kerry (D-MA), Not Voting
    Kohl (D-WI), Nay
    Kyl (R-AZ), Yea
    Landrieu (D-LA), Nay
    Lautenberg (D-NJ), Yea
    Leahy (D-VT), Nay
    Levin (D-MI), Nay
    Lieberman (D-CT), Yea
    Lincoln (D-AR), Nay
    Lott (R-MS), Yea
    Lugar (R-IN), Yea
    McCain (R-AZ), Yea
    McConnell (R-KY), Yea
    Mikulski (D-MD), Nay
    Miller (D-GA), Nay
    Murkowski (R-AK), Yea
    Murray (D-WA), Nay
    Nelson (D-FL), Yea
    Nelson (D-NE), Nay
    Nickles (R-OK), Yea
    Pryor (D-AR), Nay
    Reed (D-RI), Nay
    Reid (D-NV), Yea
    Roberts (R-KS), Nay
    Rockefeller (D-WV), Nay
    Santorum (R-PA), Yea
    Sarbanes (D-MD), Nay
    Schumer (D-NY), Nay
    Sessions (R-AL), Yea
    Shelby (R-AL), Yea
    Smith (R-OR), Yea
    Snowe (R-ME), Yea
    Specter (R-PA), Nay
    Stabenow (D-MI), Nay
    Stevens (R-AK), Yea
    Sununu (R-NH), Nay
    Talent (R-MO), Nay
    Thomas (R-WY), Yea
    Voinovich (R-OH), Nay
    Warner (R-VA), Nay
    Wyden (D-OR), Nay

Grouped By Vote Position

    YEAs—-36 (AGAINST ending the travel ban)

    Alexander (R-TN)
    Allen (R-VA)
    Bunning (R-KY)
    Chambliss (R-GA)
    Cochran (R-MS)
    Coleman (R-MN)
    Cornyn (R-TX)
    Corzine (D-NJ)
    Dole (R-NC)
    Domenici (R-NM)
    Ensign (R-NV)
    Fitzgerald (R-IL)
    Frist (R-TN)
    Graham (D-FL)
    Graham (R-SC)
    Grassley (R-IA)
    Gregg (R-NH)
    Hatch (R-UT)
    Kyl (R-AZ)
    Lautenberg (D-NJ)
    Lieberman (D-CT)
    Lott (R-MS)
    Lugar (R-IN)
    McCain (R-AZ)
    McConnell (R-KY)
    Murkowski (R-AK)
    Nelson (D-FL)
    Nickles (R-OK)
    Reid (D-NV)
    Santorum (R-PA)
    Sessions (R-AL)
    Shelby (R-AL)
    Smith (R-OR)
    Snowe (R-ME)
    Stevens (R-AK)
    Thomas (R-WY)

    NAYs—-59 (IN FAVOR of ending the travel ban)

    Akaka (D-HI)
    Allard (R-CO)
    Baucus (D-MT)
    Bayh (D-IN)
    Bennett (R-UT)
    Biden (D-DE)
    Bingaman (D-NM)
    Breaux (D-LA)
    Brownback (R-KS)
    Byrd (D-WV)
    Campbell (R-CO)
    Cantwell (D-WA)
    Carper (D-DE)
    Chafee (R-RI)
    Clinton (D-NY)
    Collins (R-ME)
    Conrad (D-ND)
    Craig (R-ID)
    Crapo (R-ID)
    Daschle (D-SD)
    Dayton (D-MN)
    DeWine (R-OH)
    Dodd (D-CT)
    Dorgan (D-ND)
    Durbin (D-IL)
    Enzi (R-WY)
    Feingold (D-WI)
    Feinstein (D-CA)
    Hagel (R-NE)
    Harkin (D-IA)
    Hollings (D-SC)
    Hutchison (R-TX)
    Inhofe (R-OK)
    Inouye (D-HI)
    Jeffords (I-VT)
    Johnson (D-SD)
    Kennedy (D-MA)
    Kohl (D-WI)
    Landrieu (D-LA)
    Leahy (D-VT)
    Levin (D-MI)
    Lincoln (D-AR)
    Mikulski (D-MD)
    Miller (D-GA)
    Murray (D-WA)
    Nelson (D-NE)
    Pryor (D-AR)
    Reed (D-RI)
    Roberts (R-KS)
    Rockefeller (D-WV)
    Sarbanes (D-MD)
    Schumer (D-NY)
    Specter (R-PA)
    Stabenow (D-MI)
    Sununu (R-NH)
    Talent (R-MO)
    Voinovich (R-OH)
    Warner (R-VA)
    Wyden (D-OR)

Not Voting - 5

    Bond (R-MO)
    Boxer (D-CA)
    Burns (R-MT)
    Edwards (D-NC)
    Kerry (D-MA)

Member Comments

No comments have been posted yet.