Havana Cuba Business Travel Culture and Politics

Havana Cuba News

Cuba Politics News

Posted September 04, 2011 by publisher in Castro's Cuba

Email this article | Print this article | Search Havana Journal        

Rob Sequin | Havana Journal

Why the great love affair between Cuba and Gaddafi and… will Gaddafi end up in Cuba?

1. In early August Raul Castro meets with Finance secretary of Libya. Is he that desperate for free money and gifts that he will support Gaddafi regardless of the consequences?

2. On August 22, the UK Telegraph suggested that if Gaddafi can get out of Libya that he might end up in Cuba.

3. I find it interesting that South Africa is offering to negotiate for Gaddafi’s exile and just days ago a high level South African delegation recently concluded a trip to Cuba.

4. Cuba withdraws ambassador from Libya by the The Associated Press

Cuba has announced the withdrawal of its ambassador and diplomatic mission in Libya and reiterated that it does not recognize the rebels’ transitional government.

It also has denounced the NATO military intervention that helped drive Libyan leader Moammar Gaddafi into hiding, saying the bombing killed “thousands” of civilians. It warned that NATO’s conduct could create similar conditions for an outside military intervention in Syria, which has been roiled by popular protests as well.

The statement also said that Cuba does not recognize the National Transition Council and will only recognize a government that is established legitimately and without foreign intervention, via the free, sovereign will of the Libyan people. (Hmmm “sovereign will of the Libyan people”? And that can happen under Gaddafi?)

Cuba is a longtime ally of Libya, and former leader Fidel Castro was outspoken in his criticism of the uprising against Gaddafi in the early days of the conflict. He has not commented publicly on Gaddafi’s fall.

The announcement came from a Cuban Foreign Ministry communique on Saturday.

—————————————- Havana Journal Comments—————————————-

I can’t wait to read how the Communist wannabe’s support this one.

  1. Follow up post #1 added on September 04, 2011 by publisher with 3905 total posts

    From Escambray.cu

    Cuba: No Recognition for National Transition Council in Libya

    Cuba calls on the international community to prevent a new war and urges UN to safeguard peace.

    The Republic of Cuba will not recognize the National Transition Council or any provisional authority in Libya; it will only recognize a government set up in that country in a legitimate way and by the free, sovereign and unique will of the Libyan people, reads a declaration released on Saturday by the Cuban Foreign Ministry.

    In the document, the Cuban ministry announced the withdrawal from Libya of all its diplomatic personnel, following the worsening of the conflict by foreign intervention and NATO´s military aggression, which have hindered a negotiated and peaceful solution by the Libyan people in full exercise of their self-determination.

    Under the coarse pretext of protecting civilians, NATO has murdered thousands of them and has turned a deaf ear on constructive initiatives by the African Union and other countries; NATO has even violated the questionable resolutions imposed by the UN Security Council by attacking civilian targets, financing and arming one of the belligerent parties, and by deploying operative and diplomatic personnel in the field, the declaration points out, and notes that nothing can justify the murder of innocent people.

    In the document, the Cuban Foreign Ministry demands the immediate ceasefire by NATO and reiterates the urgent need to allow the Libyan people to find a peaceful and negotiated solution, without any foreign interference and in tune with their inalienable right to independence and self determination, and their sovereignty over their natural resources and territorial integrity of their nation.

    Cuba also denounces that NATO´s behavior is aimed at creating similar conditions for an intervention in Syria, and demands the end of foreign interference in that country. Cuba calls on the international community to prevent a new war and urges the United Nations to meet its duties in safeguarding peace, as it also supports the right of the Syrian people to full independence and self-determination, concludes the declaration of the Cuban Foreign Ministry.

    END

    Huh? Sounds like one of Fidel’s reflections but this is an official announcement from the Cuban Foreign Ministry.

    What exactly does Cuba have to gain by being one of maybe three countries in the world not recognizing the new government in Libya?

    I guess Raul and Fidel like their placement on the US State Sponsors of Terrorism list.

    This is certainly NOT good for US Cuba relations.

    Did Fidel make a call and told the Foreign ministry to make this statement?

    If so, will Raul have to give Fidel a smackdown and retract this official Cuban government statement?

    I can’t believe Raul would make such an official statement. If so, why? What does he gain by it? He’s not going to get ANY money from Gadaffi or Libya EVER again.



    Cuba consulting services

  2. Follow up post #2 added on September 04, 2011 by Yeyo with 411 total posts

    They are only showing their true colors. The Castros are obviously on the side of oppression, tyranny and always against the free will of the people.
    Condoning the Transition council will send a difficult to understand message to the Cubans living in Cuba.

    Somehow this in line with the Cuban government sponsored mobs yelling “abajo los derechos humanos”…. to the pro-human rights activists.


  3. Follow up post #3 added on September 04, 2011 by Rich_Haney

    You are 100% correct in criticizing Cuba for its stupid, self-defeating support of Gaddafi in Libya. However, where you are again 100% wrong is not pointing out incredible, self-serving support of Gaddafi by former President George W. Bush, Bush’s S. of State Condi Rice,  and present S. of State Hillary Clinton. Bush, of course, removed Gaddafi’s Libya from the Sponsors of Terrorism list and then the AP reported that every hotel room in Tripoli was “seemingly filled with Bush-friendly oil barons” and, of course, then S. of State Condi Rice essentialy became Gaddafi’s girlfriend (as his trashed palace revealed; and, of course, just prior to the anti-Gaddafi revolt Gaddafi’s son was lauded by Hillary Clinton in a photo and video session at the State Department. Cuba should be criticized for supporting Gaddafi but so should the U. S., where Bush, Rice, Clinton, etc., pretended Gaddafi didn’t sponsor terrorism when the huge U. S. airliner, the big U. S. military barracks, etc., just accidentally got blown up. Now please refrain from McCarthyisms regrading Communists and dictators. I am such a visceral pro-democracy advocate that I abhor those who support U. S. support of dictators, Communist or otherwise. Therefore, blast Cuba for supporting Gaddafi but don’t be a dictator-enabler by
    totally overlooking U. S. support of dictators be they Batista, Pinochet, Gaddafi, or whomever. You don’t think dictatorships should support other dictatorships, and neither do I. But you think it is fine for Western democracies to support dictatorships, but I adamantly do not.


  4. Follow up post #4 added on September 05, 2011 by Rich_Haney

    Rob, a final comment(promise): Your blasting Cuba for any support of Gadhafi is admirable and I totally agree. But where I disagree is you seem to think U. S. support of dictators is fine and I don’t. In my (and your) Sunday paper today (Sept. 4) there is a huge AP article, dateline Tripoli, entitled “U. S. Tles with Libya Revealed.” The exact first paragraph is: “The CIA and other Western intelligence agencies worked closely with the ousted regime of Moammar Gadhafi, sharing tips and cooperating in handing over terror suspects for interrogation to a regime known to use torture, according to a trove of security documents discovered after the fall of Tripoli.”
    I deplore Cuban support or U. S. support of such dictatorships but you seem to give the U. S. a pass…in Cuba with Batista, in Libya with Gadhafi, in Chile with Pinochet, etc. And democracy lovers like me who don’t hand out such passes are not “Communists,” which seems to be your McCarthy-like term for anyone who disagrees with you.


  5. Follow up post #5 added on September 05, 2011 by publisher with 3905 total posts

    Rich,

    Like a good Communist wannabe, you change the subject AND you blame George Bush so you can deflect the conversation away from the FACT that Cuba supports Gaddafi.

    Sorry pal but that doesn’t work here. We stay on topic. However, I’ll bite to help people see how ignorant you are.

    “U. S. support of dictators be they Batista, Pinochet, Gaddafi, or whomever”

    Okay? Who is “whomever”?

    “And democracy lovers like me who don’t hand out such passes are not “Communists,” which seems to be your McCarthy-like term for anyone who disagrees with you. “

    Give me a break. You are not a democracy lover, you are a US hater and would probably rather live in Cuba than live in the US. Would you rather live in Cuba? Do you live in Cuba?

    And, you are not disagreeing with me, you are changing the subject like a good Communist wannabe. You push propaganda. You don’t add to the conversation. You change the subject.

    I’ve seen it many times before for many years here. You are either the same person with a different email or from the same organization designed to get the Communist propaganda out on the blogs.

    Or, you have the exact same ignorant mentality living on the ideology that La Revolucion was AND IS a good thing.



    Cuba consulting services

  6. Follow up post #6 added on September 05, 2011 by Rich_Haney

    Rob, if I were a “Communist wannabe” as you so stupidly state, I’ve lived long enough to have dropped the “wannabe.” I’m starkly anti-Communist and pro-democracy. Don’t be ignorant by sayings
    “U.S. support of Batista, Pinochet, Gaddafi, or whomever” and then pretend their are no other “whomevers.” I believe there are more than I like to count…the fiend in the Dominican Republic (history says he murdered upwards of 15,000 Haitians when he blamed them for a shortfall in his sugar crop)...the fiend in Argentina (history says his little joke was to murder mothers in military hospitals soon after they gave birth and giving the babies away like dolls (thousands of times)...and I could, of course, go on. It’s because I’m pro-democracy I decry democratic America supporting such fiends. My separation from you is simple: You support Fulgencio Batista, Meyer Lansky, and Luis Posada Carriles; I support little Cuban girls like Maria Ochoa, Nancy Pavon, and Gigi. (Maria Ochoa was the 10-year-old legally raped to death in Batista’s Cuba, Nancy was the 13-year-old whose leg was blown off and her parents killed by legal terrorists from Miami, and Gigi was the 7-year-old girl killed in the bombing of the Cuban civilian plane on Oct. 6, 1976. I also support Emilio Milan, the Cuban American newsman in Miami who was car-bombed in 1976 because he criticized the Cuban exile terrorists for murdering innocent Cubans. I’m sure you would call the aforementioned little girls “Communist wannabes” too. But, Rob, they were just little girls, just like and just as precious as my 14-month-old grand-daughter.


  7. Follow up post #7 added on September 05, 2011 by publisher with 3905 total posts

    Since you insist on being disruptive and refuse to stay on topic across multiple articles, you have earned the right to be banned.

    Go start your own “open minded” blog like the Havana Times.

    Good bye.



    Cuba consulting services

  8. Follow up post #8 added on September 05, 2011 by publisher with 3905 total posts

    And, as I said many times before here in writing, Posada should be extradited, tried and convicted of his crimes.

    Those in Miami who aid him and support him should be ashamed of themselves.

    As far as Batista and Lanksy, you’ll have to show me where I have voiced any support for them.

    Now back to the shameful behavior act that “The Cuban government still supports Gaddafi - with opinion”



    Cuba consulting services

  9. Follow up post #9 added on September 11, 2011 by miguel

    Eight Latinamerican countries have declared that they will not recognize the National Transitional Council as the legitimate representation of Libya. Some African nations, among these South Africa, Algeria and Tanzania refrain from recognizing the Council as legitimate government, and so does the African Union (whose position Cuba has supported during the whole conflict).

    The reserve of these countries has to do with principal opposition to assumtion of power through foreign intervention.

    And by the way: To point out, as Richard Haney does, that the US during many years cooperated with Gaddafi (as they did with Saddam Hussein) is not irrelevant. One could add cases where deposed dictators were given asylum in NATO countries.


  10. Follow up post #10 added on September 30, 2011 by Yeyo with 411 total posts

    Miguel
    The eight Latin-American countries not recognizing the Libyan Transitional Council are headed by Cuba and Venezuela, the rest all Castro and Chavez puppets paid and supported by Chavez and could not do anything else because will lose Chavez petro money support.

    I agree that not only the US but many other countries around the world did business with Gaddafi. But I have a question:
    Is that sufficiently to stay silent while Gaddafi was killing his own people??
    Pls respond straight yes or no.


Would you like to add more information?


Only members can add more information. Please register or log in

  • Advertise at Havana Journal Inc
Images of Cuba
Argentina Estevez and Camilo Cienfuegos
Follow Havana Journal
SUBSCRIBE to our Cuba Watch newsletter
LIKE us on Facebook

FOLLOW us on Twitter

CONNECT with us on Linked In

Section Archive
Havana Journal, Inc. BBB Business Review



Member of the Association for the Study of the Cuban Economy