Newbie question about travel to Havana Cuba
Posted: 28 November 2008 02:22 AM   [ Ignore ]
less than 10 posts
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2008-11-28

Hi… I am newbie here and I hope to know people who love travel as much I do.

I’m thinking to travel for this holidays to La Havana .... any advice

Thanks wink

[ Edited: 29 November 2008 10:24 AM by publisher ]
 Signature 

Budget Hotels Amsterdam - Antwerpen Hotel. Check them out at Hotels.nl!

Posted: 28 November 2008 08:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
50+ posts ACTIVE MEMBER
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  60
Joined  2006-12-27

Hi Jennifer

From my experiences and depending where you’re coming from the first thing to ensure is that you have an entry visa. They are normally sourced either through your travel agent or directly from the cuban embassy in the country from which you are departing from.

You will most likely need to provide an address where you are staying in Havana when applying for your visa. Your visa is £25.00 or the dollar equivalent, don’t worry, they normally issue this straight away on submission of passport, flight ticket information and Havana based address whether hotel or Casa Particular (goverment licenced private accomodation). You don’t need to be permanently based at that address throughout your stay. However when cashing in travellers cheques at the bank in Havana for example they ask for your Havana based address, you will need this as part of any banking transaction with the teller.

Remember that travellers cheques of the american express kind and any american based currency is not accepted in Cuba. This is due to america’s trading embargo.

If going from the UK I would normally use pound sterling travellers cheques. Debit cards can be used at Cuban ATM’s or cash machines, as long as (you guessed it, they’re not american based). The currency for tourists is the Cuban Convertible Peso…see below;