I bought Camarioca.com for $250 at snapnames
Posted: 20 September 2008 05:09 PM   [ Ignore ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  992
Joined  2005-11-19

I have been buying Cuba related domains for many many years and am fortunate to have a nice portfolio of over 2500 Cuba related domains.

I think it’s time for me to start posting regularly about my Cuba domain purchases thinking that maybe I can help other people buy some virtual land in Cuba… especially since you can’t buy real land in Cuba.

Seriously, I think anyone interested in Cuba should own at least one domain that they would consider developing someday. Think about your Cuba expertise, your Cuba passion and of course websites that would be most relevant in a post-Castro post-Embargo Cuba because we will be there SOMEDAY.

I thought I’d start off my new Cuba domain forum post with a story about the domain I just bought today, Camarioca.com.

I search for hundreds of Cuba related keywords and city/destination names every week. I just happen to run a whois check (seeing who owns the domain) for Camarioca.com and discovered that it would be expiring or dropping in a few weeks because the current owner failed to renew the domain. People fail to renew for many reasons… they don’t want it anymore, they forget or maybe they don’t even get the email notice that the domain is expiring.

So, I add it to my Cuba domain spreadsheet watch list and put in back orders at Snapnames.com, Namejet.com and Pool.com because these are the three companies that catching dropping domains. Now I probably shouldn’t be telling you this because I’m sure we will be going head to head against each other someday for the same name but that’s okay. There is plenty of room for everyone.