US journalist press passes needed for travel to Cuba?
Posted: 24 July 2007 06:42 AM   [ Ignore ]
less than 10 posts
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2007-07-24

When I first went to Cuba in 1990, I contacted the Treasury Dept. in order to get a press pass, but Mr. Stephen Pinter told me that I could not get a press pass as a freelance journalist unless I was “on assignment” from a “legitimate” publication.  I have a college degree in journalism and, at the time, I was the Colorado publisher of The Cuba Advocate newsletter.  Well, I didn’t listen to Mr. Pinter or wait for his permission.  I made my travel arrangements and flew to Havana from Miami.  When I got back, I began issuing press passes to people who wanted to travel to Cuba on assignment from my publication.  After all, how can the Treasury Dept. decide First Amendment issues regarding whether a publication is “legitimate”?

I have not been to Cuba since 1993 and I am wondering about recent experiences that people have had as freelance journalists.

Signature 

Habeas Corpus 1215-2006, Rest in Peace

Posted: 24 July 2007 06:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  992
Joined  2005-11-19

mediagonebad,

Thanks for your post. First, I expanded the title of your post from Press passes to the current title in order to be more explanatory to readers and search engines. If that is a problem and you would like to edit it, simply hit the edit button and re-title it.

Now, about the press passes. I think OFAC would have a hard time making a case against anyone who claims to be a journalist so long as they have some ties to a media outlet including a website.

I do not have a degree in journalism and don’t consider myself to be a journalist but if I wanted to go to Cuba for research to write a story about Cuba, I feel that I would be qualified as Publisher of this site to travel to Cuba on a “general license” which, to my knowledge does not actually exist.