CANE Good move or bad move for Jimmy Smits
Posted: 12 July 2007 11:21 AM   [ Ignore ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  992
Joined  2005-11-19

From LA Law to NYPD Blue to the West Wing and now onto CANE. Is this a good move. Did you see the trailer?

Go to http://www.cbs.com/primetime/fall_preview_2007/ then find the CANE show and click on video and it will start.

The dialog looks a little quirky but sounds like an interesting premise.

This is a thread in http://CaneForum.com so just remember that and you get here.

Signature 

Cuba consulting services

Posted: 18 July 2007 08:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
less than 10 posts
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2007-07-18

just saw the video promo on CBS’s website, and i agree, the dialogue does seem a little “off.”

i’m a writer myself, so i try to refrain from dissecting/criticizing other writers’ works, as i know how difficult the process can be. however, as a Cuban-American, or a Latino, period, i often find myself cringing when i hear the dialogue that’s often written for Latino characters on TV and in movies. that Cynthia Cidre is Cuban only helps, i hope.

and not that the ubiquitous thug or gangbanger character is a better alternative, but the immaculately dressed, monotone, and highly polished diction-spouting (sometimes slightly accented, most times VERY accented) crime lord wears me out. from my experience, Paul Shenar’s brilliant portrayal of Alejandro Sosa in Scarface set the mold.

but i’ve always liked Jimmy Smits, and i’ve never been the type to complain when a Latino actor of one nationality plays a character of another (i DO complain when the actor’s ethnicity/nationality don’t match the characters, as in waaay too many of the extras during the Freedomtown scenes in Scarface, who mainly looked Central American and not at all Cuban).

anyway… looking forward to it, as the premiere of the FIRST Latino-based dramatic series on primetime TV (Kingpin, on NBC in 2003, was a mini-series, apparently).