Cuban street art - Murales Pintados
Posted: 21 July 2011 02:46 PM   [ Ignore ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  992
Joined  2005-11-19

I am a documentary photographer and have been working on a project in Havana with my partner, Kate Mack, since 2006, photographing community and street art and meeting with the artists.

On our last visit in April, we finally created a collective exposition with the Muraleando artists in Lawton, our photographs and their art work in response to the photographs.

As you can imagine,  it was a spectacular event as we were honored to open their new community center and art gallery, made from a 100-year-old water tank. 

You might be interested in the work of Charo, a very talented artist living in Miramar.

I am most interested in showing our collective exposition and I have a CD of this work that I can distribute.

Since we have documented so much Cuban art work, we are happy to make a presentation if we are available.

Our first American exhibit - Murales Pintados: painted walls & the painters - was in our own local government center at The Atrium Gallery at The Ventura County Government Center, Hall of Administration, Executive Level, sponsored by The Ventura County Arts Council.

We showed 47 photographs and Cuban art. This was a Collective Exposition with the Muraleando Project Havana and photographs of Havana street art by Morgan Alexander and Kate Mack, part of a group exhibit “Latin Quarter”.

This work first opened on April 11, 2011 in Lawton, Havana, Cuba in “El Tanque” a 100-year-old water storage tank that was refurbished by the Muraleando Art Collective for a new community center, workshop, office and Art Gallery.

Each artist was asked to create a piece of art in response to one of the photographs.

This exhibit is the result of our collaboration.

On these walls, you will see creative conversations between the photographs and the Cuban Artwork.